County commissioners face challengers Nov. 6.

October 8, 2018

County commissioners face challengers Nov. 6.


HART – Three incumbent Oceana County commissioners face independent challengers in the Nov. 6 midterm election, and several city, village and township officials also face competition.

The following are contested races in Oceana County:

(There is no party affiliation unless otherwise noted.)

Oceana County Board of Commissioners (two-year terms):
Third District: Denny Powers (R), Nathan Munoz
Fourth District: Andrew Sebolt (R), Paul Erickson
Seventh District: Robert Walker (R), Justin Jimison and Rhonda Schilleman

City of Hart
Mayor (two-year term): Ronald LaPorte, Jason LaFever
Council (four-year term; two seats): James Evans, Patrice Martin, Vicki Platt, Edward Simon

Township officials (partial terms ending Nov. 20, 2020)

Elbridge Township supervisor: Craig Herremans (R), Valarie Hasse
Elbridge Township trustee: Jeff Buter (R), Charles Tanner
Leavitt Township supervisor: John Herremans (R), Emma Kirwin
Leavitt Township treasurer: David Kruppe (R), Jenel Tyndall

Shelby Public Schools Board of Education (six-year terms, two seats): Douglas Fris, Jeremy Horton, Jacinto Trevino and Jason Fleming

Hesperia Village president (two-year term): Louis Nemastil, Mike Farber

Walkerville Village president (two-year term): Ernest Gilbert, Jr., Mark Rainy Metts, Jr., and Levi Porter

Hesperia Village trustee (four-year term, three seats): Kristin Denbesten, Michael Maynard, Joyce McDonald and Arthur Raymond

Village of Rothbury trustee (four-year term, three seats): Cynthia Cruz, James Fekken Jr., Edward Goerbig and Autum Sluyter

Village of Shelby trustee (four-year term, three seats): Steven Crothers, William Harris, Dan Zaverl and Gary Maclean

Democratic and Republican candidates in state races:

Governor (four-year term): Bill Schuette (R), Gretchen Whitmer. (D)

Secretary of State (four-year term): Mary Treder Lang (R), Jocelyn Benson (D)

Attorney General (four-year term): Tom Leonard (R), Dana Nesse (D)

US Senator (six-year term): John James (R), Debbie Stabenow (D)

US Representative for Congress (two-year term): Bill Huizenga (R) Rob Davidson (D)

State Senator for the 34th District (four-year term): Jon Bumstead (R), Poppy Sias-Hernandez (D)

Representative in the State Legislature for the 100th District (two-year term): Scott VanSingel (R), Sandy Clarke (D)

This story is copyrighted © 2018, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.


Help Fund Local News

Please consider helping us keep local news active by sending a PayPal payment.

Subscribe to OCP via email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12,769 other subscribers